Egypt Facts


  • First Dynasty c.3150 BCE
  • Independence from United Kingdom February 28, 1922
  • Republic declared June 18, 1953

Capital: Cairo

Area: Total 980,869 square km

Topography: Four major regions: Nile Valley and Delta, Western Desert; Eastern Desert; and Sinai Peninsula.

Official languages: Egyptian Arabic

Flag: Coat of arms

Anthem: Bilady, Bilady, Bilady

Currency: Egyptian pound (EGP)

Religion: Almost 90 percent Sunni Muslims, 8.5 percent Coptic Christians, 1.5 percent other Christians

Ethnic Groups: Egyptians, Bedouins, Greeks, Nubians, Armenians, and Berbers.

Currency: Egyptian pound (EGP)

Climate: Except for modest amounts of rainfall along Mediterranean coast, precipitation ranges from minimal to nonexistent. Mild winters (November to April) and hot summers (May to October).

Main exports: Petroleum, petroleum products and cotton.

Last Updated on Friday 13th November 2009