Geography of Libya

Libya is the fourth largest country in the continent and is situated on the north-east coast of Africa. While the northern part of the country lies along the Mediterranean, the south is covered by the Sahara.

With an area of almost 1.8 million square kilometers (700,000 sq mi), 90% of which is desert, Libya is the fourth largest country in Africa by area, and the 17th largest in the world. The capital, Tripoli, is home to 1.7 million of Libya's 5.7 million people. The three traditional parts of the country are Tripolitania, the Fezzan and Cyrenaica.

A greater part of the country lies within the Sahara. Along the Mediterranean coast and farther inland is arable plateau land.

Libya shares boarders with Tunisia, Algeria, Egypt, Sudan, Chad and Niger.


About 1,760,000 square kilometers (excluding Aouzou Strip claimed by Chad) consisting mainly of desert. Land boundaries 4,345 kilometers long and coastline 1,770 kilometers long. Twelve-nautical- mile maritime claim, including disputed Gulf of Sidra.


Main contrast between narrow enclaves of fertile lowlands along Mediterranean coast and vast expanse of arid, rocky plains and sand seas to south. Coastal lowlands separated from one another by predesert zone and backed by plateaus with steep, north-facing scarps; country's only true mountains, Tibesti, rise in southern desert. Country has several saline lakes but no perennial watercourses. Less than 5 percent of territory economically useful.

Last Updated on Monday 4th August 2008