Zimbabwe's Unity Govt Agrees on Election Commission

Published on Wednesday 23rd December 2009 Zimbabwe's Unity Govt Agrees on Election Commission

THE three principals to the Global Political Agreement met in Harare yesterday and agreed to the appointment of members of Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission and Zimbabwe Media Commission.

Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda announced the appointments yesterday after the meeting of President Mugabe, Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai and Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara in the afternoon.

Their meeting came after a Cabinet meeting earlier in the morning.

In a statement yesterday, Dr Sibanda said the appointments followed consultations among the three principals on the list of names of candidates submitted by the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Standing Rules and Orders for appointment to ZEC, ZHRC and ZMC.

Former ZBC newscaster and Danhiko Project deputy director Mr Godfrey Majonga has been appointed ZMC chairperson.

He is being deputised by former Daily News editor and National University of Science and Technology lecturer Ms Nqobile Nyathi.

Other ZMC members are Ambassador Christopher Mutsvangwa, Harare lawyer and journalist Mr Chris Mhike, former Zimbabwe Union of Journalists president Mr Matthew Takaona, former ZBC chief executive officer Mr Henry Muradzikwa, and Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe division head Dr Milicent Mombeshora, former Zimpapers board member and NUST lecturer Mr Lawton Hikwa and journalist Ms Miriam Madziwa.

ZEC comprises Mrs Joyce Laetitia Kazembe, who was deputy chairperson, and Harare lawyer Mr Theophileus Gambe were returned from the previous electoral commission.

Other members are Dr Petty Makoni, Mrs Sibongile Ndlovu, an academic Mrs Bessie F. Nhandara, Zimbabwe International Trade Fair general manager Mr Daniel J. Chigaru, UZ Professor of Public Law Professor Geoff Feltoe and Mr Mukhuli Nyathi.

The ZHRC is composed of Dr Ellen Sithole, a law lecturer at UZ, Dr Kwanele Jirira, Mrs Neseni Nomathemba, Mr Elasto Mugwadi, a lawyer; Dr Joseph Kurebwa, UZ lecturer; Mr Japhet Ndabeni-Ncube former Bulawayo mayor and civic leader, Mr Jacob Mudenda, a lawyer and businessman; and Professor Carol Khombe, NUST lecturer.

"Consultations are still underway on the appointment of chairpersons to the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission and Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission," Dr Sibanda said.

Sources last night said the principals were set to meet again tomorrow to bring finality to outstanding issues in the GPA.

Yesterday's meeting of the principals is said to have lasted about two hours. The principals met despite failure by the negotiators to prepare a comprehensive report that their leaders were supposed to discuss yesterday.

The only report available was the one sent to the South African facilitators. The negotiators failed to draw up a final report because some of them were out of the country on Government business.

Yesterday's meeting also followed a meeting a week ago of the principals during which they reviewed recommendations made by the negotiating teams.

Last week, Dr Sibanda indicated that the principals agreed on most issues with regard to the appointment of the commissioners except a few appointees, where consultations on individuals concerned were taking place.


Post new comment