Provinces of South Africa

South Africa is divided into nine provinces, each possessing its own democratically elected state legislature, premier and executive council. Some powers have been devolved to provincial authorities to encourage competition; however provincial law is subject to national law and, in cases where the two conflict, precedence is given to national law.

Although there are disparities between the provinces in terms of their economies.

South Africa is currently divided into nine provinces. On the eve of the 1994 general election, South Africa's former homelands, also known as Bantustans, were reintegrated and the four existing provinces were divided into nine. The provinces are as follows:

  • Western Cape (Cape Town),
  • Northern Cape (Kimberley),
  • Eastern Cape (Bhisho-Largest city:
  • Port Elizabeth),
  • KwaZulu-Natal (Pietermaritzburg-Largest city: Durban),
  • Free State (Bloemfontein),
  • North West (Mafikeng),
  • Gauteng (Johannesburg),
  • Mpumalanga (Nelspruit) and
  • Limpopo (Polokwane).
Last Updated on Monday 4th August 2008