Towns and cities of Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe is divided into eight provinces and two cities with provincial status. These are territorial divisions for the purposes of administrative, political and geographical demarcation.

The provinces are subdivided into 59 districts and 1,200 municipalities.

The provinces are Bulawayo (city), Harare (city), Manicaland, Mashonaland Central, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West, Masvingo, Matabeleland North, Matabeleland South, and Midlands.

The names of the provinces are generally generated from the Mashonaland and Matabeleland divide which existed before colonisation. These two lands were the tribal homes of the Shona people and the Matabele people. The provinces have regional capitals and these are generally, on the whole, in the centre of the province but not always the largest town/city in the province.

Main City:

  • Harare (capital),
  • Bulawayo.

Other towns:

  • Chitungwiza,
  • Mutare,
  • Gweru,
  • Kwekwe,
  • Masvingo,
  • Marondera,
  • Midlands,
  • Mashonaland.
Last Updated on Monday 4th August 2008